Databases
Academic Search Premier
Full text, indexes and abstracts for over 8000 journals in nearly every academic discipline
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books including Current Biography, the World Author Series and Nobel Prize Winners.
Credo Reference
Online reference books on subjects ranging from Art to Geography, Medicine to Philiosophy, Religion to Technology. Contains 270 titles with over 3 million entries.
Humanities Full Text
Abstracts and full text of over 600 journals in archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Be sure to choose the Humanities subject area.
JSTOR
Back issues of hundreds of core scholarly journals in the humanities and sciences. JSTOR does not contain current issues of journals. “There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.”
Literature Resource Center
Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Be sure to choose Literature Resource Center.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Contains critical essays, plot summaries, character profiles, setting discussions, biographies, images and a glossary.
MLA International Biography
Over 1.8 million citations for articles on literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, language and linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. There are no entries for living persons.
Oxford English Dictionary
Historical dictionary of the English language from the earliest times to the present day. Includes pronunciation, etymology, and quotations in addition to definitions.
Readers’ Guide Full Text
Abstracts and full text of over 600 journals in aeronautics, African-Americans, aging, astronomy, automobiles, biography, business, Canada, children, computers, consumer education, current events, education, environment, fashion, film, fine arts, food, foreign affairs, health, history, hobbies, home, journalism, leisure activities, medicine, music, news, nutrition, photography, politics, religion, science, sports and television. Be sure to choose the Readers’ Guide subject area.